Lawrence County Schools

     Lawrence County Schools have faced many changes over the years. Some schools consolidated with others. Many different buildings were built and abandoned over the years. In a report on education published in 1959, Lawrence County had ten public high schools and one parochial school. The public schools listed were Ironton, South Point, Chesapeake, Dawson-Bryant, Windsor, Hanging Rock, Rock Hill, Waterloo, Fairland, and Decator-Washington. The parochial school was St. Joseph.
     Today, Lawrence County can claim seven high schools: Ironton, South Point, Chesapeake, Dawson-Bryant, Rock Hill, Fairland and Symmes Valley. Windsor and Waterloo Schools were consolidated with Mason and Aid to form the Symmes Valley Schools. Hanging Rock and Decator-Washington joined the Rock Hill District.
     Our schools have faced many changes and no doubt will face many more in the future.
     A list of our high school, junior high school and middle yearbooks can be found here.