Research Databases

A B C D E F G H K L N O P S T V W
List of research database titles, descriptions and links
 Explora Primary Schools
Explora Primary Schools

A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.

Use this resource
 LinkedIn Learning with Lynda.com content
LinkedIn Learning with Lynda.com content

Self-directed online learning for technology, business, and creative skills. Access more than 12,000 video courses taught by industry experts to help you stay ahead in your current job or change careers.

Use this resource
 Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this resource provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Use this resource
 World Book Timelines
World Book Timelines

Explore more than 650 pre-made timelines with over 14,000 individual events, or create your own timelines!

Use this resource
about:books
about:books
Information on books and authors.
Use this resource
African American Heritage
African American Heritage

Search records, books, serials, and other historical records specific to African Americans to trace your genealogy or to do research.

Use this resource
American and English full text literature collections
American and English full text literature collections

Electronic books of American and English literature: poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible.

Use this resource
Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition

[IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY] Trace your genealogy using historical records. U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

Use this resource
Biography Reference Bank
Biography Reference Bank

Access biographical information on more than 335,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Use this resource
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier

Boost your business knowledge by researching company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, and magazine articles.

Use this resource
Chilton Database link
Chilton Library

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs.

Use this resource
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete

Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books. Read articles on health and fitness. Find sources for alternative health information

Use this resource
Digital Public Library of America
Digital Public Library of America

Historic digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and more. The DPLA portal to photographs, maps, documents, and AV materials from across the country is a great starting place for your local history and genealogy reference.

Use this resource
EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost

Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos and maps on millions of topics.

Use this resource
Explora Secondary Schools
Explora Secondary Schools

Grades 6-12: A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.

Use this resource
Fold3
Fold3

A premier collection of historical U.S. military records that brings to life the details of America’s military veterans with stories, photos, and personal documents.

Use this resource
Gale In Context: Elementary
Gale In Context: Elementary

Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids Infobits) is an easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.

Use this resource
HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest

Search census records, books, serials, and other historical records to trace your genealogy.

Use this resource
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Find "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.

Use this resource
Home Improvement Reference Center
Home Improvement Reference Center

Home Improvement Reference Center features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects.

Use this resource
KnowledgeCity
KnowledgeCity - Learning Solutions

Currently, KnowledgeCity offers over 12,000 online video tutorials in Business Skills, Computer Software, Safety, Compliance, as well as a collection of Finance Courses.

Use this resource
Lawrence County Courthouse Archives
Lawrence County Courthouse Archives

The following web site contains material retrieved from the Lawrence County court house located in Ironton, OH. As the preservation work progresses we hope it will be a useful source for genealogists and historians.

Use this resource
LinkedIn Learning with Lynda
LinkedIn Learning

Choose from thousands of online courses to learn in-demand skills from real-world industry experts. Get started with your library card.

Use this resource
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center

Research an author, novel, or poem for school or personal interest. Learn more about a literary movement for book discussions.

Use this resource
Northstar Digital Literacy
Northstar Digital Literacy

Self-directed assessment and learning tool that covers a variety of technology scenarios. Find short lessons and practice exercises to improve skills on common computer topics such as email basics, Microsoft Word, and social media.

Use this resource
Ohio History Central
Ohio History Central

Ohio History Central is the Ohio History Connection’s online encyclopedia, a reference source for and about the people of Ohio. It covers topics related to the history, ancient peoples, archaeology, and natural history of Ohio. It is a starting point for learning about the people, places, animals, events, and culture of Ohio.

Use this resource
Ohio Memory
Ohio Memory

Established in 2000, Ohio Memory is the collaborative statewide digital library program of the Ohio History Connection and the State Library of Ohio. On this free website, you can explore digital content from over 390 cultural heritage institutions representing all 88 of Ohio’s counties covering a wide range of topics from prehistory to present day.

Use this resource
Ohio Web Logo
Ohio Web Library

The Ohio Web Library is an evolving collection of thousands of online publications and research resources. The Ohio Web Library includes: popular magazines, trade publications, scholarly research journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, dictionaries, speeches, poems, plays, maps, satellite images of Ohio, and more.

Use this resource
Ohio.gov Official Site
Ohio.gov

Official Website of the State of Ohio.

Use this resource
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Reference content in humanities, social sciences, and science.

Use this resource
Postcard collection
Postcard Collection

This collection is a series of postcards featuring Lawrence County, Ohio. 

Use this resource
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Find large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods. Study the growth of towns and cities, and the impact of new development

Use this resource
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center

Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.

Use this resource
Small Business Reference Center
Small Business Reference Center

Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

Use this resource
Social Security Admin.
Social Security Administration

Social Security has provided financial protection for our nation's people for over 80 years. With retirement, disability, and survivors benefits, Social Security is one of the most successful anti-poverty programs in our nation's history.

Use this resource
Transparent Language Online
Transparent Language Online

Learn to speak a new language. Over 100 foreign language courses are available that can help you learn languages including French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese. There's also an ESL component that provides English language learning to speakers of over 25 different languages.

Use this resource
Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions

An excellent way to get a quick authoritative and accessible overview of a subject.

Use this resource
What Tree Is It?
What Tree Is It?

Ohio tree identification guide.

Use this resource
What's That Snake
What's That Snake

Ohio snake identification guide

Use this resource
What's The Point?
What's The Point?

Identifying flint artifacts.

Use this resource
World Book Advanced
World Book Advanced

Ages 14 and up. A wealth of vetted articles supplemented by thousands of original source documents fosters advanced research and critical thinking skills and prepares students for continued growth!

Use this resource
World Book Early World of Learning
World Book Early World of Learning

Ages 3-7. Developed with experts in early childhood education, this re-designed database offers rich resources to help young learners build their vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency.

Use this resource
World Book Kids
World Book Kids

Ages 6-10. This go-to resource is chock-full of fun activities, hands-on science projects, and age-appropriate articles, and offers image-based navigation to help young learners find information quickly and develop necessary digital literacy skills.

Use this resource
World Book Student
World Book Student

Ages 10-14. Tailored specifically for students, articles include multimedia and related resources to engage students, biographies, and supplemental tools to support cross-curricular studies.

Use this resource
WTP Databases
World Trade Press

This website provides direct access to World Trade Press online databases designed for academic and public libraries (APL).

Use this resource